A glimmer of light

Wow. I really didn’t think I’d be posting about The Bold and the Beautiful two posts in a row.

But I also never expected Donald Trump to be president. Or for the Battle of the Network Stars to make a comeback. And yet, here we are.

I’m way overdue in making this post. 2016 has come and gone. The Emmys have come and gone.

But I remembered seeing this scene last year and thinking that it was so fantastic. It was a glimpse of what can be when a soap weaves in its history to inform character as well as plot.

This. This is the layered storytelling and acting I know and remember.

Heather Tom did Emmy-deserving work here, to be certain.  (And while I can’t be sure, the words sound like the work of dialogue master Patrick Mulcahey.)

The scene is from around 9:00 on. The last two minutes are the emotional punch in the gut.

Leave a Reply

