The night the lights went out in Peapack

Today was the final day of production for Guiding Light. The final scenes were taped in Peapack today (final scenes in Manhattan were filmed last Friday).

It’s becoming more and more real as the end draws near. I have to say, as silly as it sounds, I still cannot fully comprehend GL ending.

Tina Sloan had this to say on Facebook:

“Shot last scene of the day on the last day of Guiding Light. Tears everywhere but what a ride for 26 years. So blessed with the best people in the business. A time in CAMELOT for us all. Thank you, Guiding Light. And so, put out the light.”

Liz Keifer also updated her Facebook page:

“It’s an official wrap. I’m happy “Blake” went out with hope.”

4 thoughts on “The night the lights went out in Peapack

  1. This is all so sad. The last time this happened in such a pronounced way was when EON went off the air. Back then, though, there was no internet….no way to network with other long-time fans. How great that people like you are covering the end of GL so thoroughly.

  2. I may literally go into shock the following Monday after GL concludes its run.

    And I have a feeling I’ll be crying buckets during the final episode. And we’d best get a “goodbye” montage with every character, every cast member, similar to SEARCH FOR TOMORROW’s ending, where they all get to say “goodbye” to us. (That one still gets me, 25 years later. The catch in Mary Stuart’s voice…OK, tearing up, and I’m not even playing it on youtube in the background…)

    I’m glad the actors are leaving with pride in their work and contribution to the show and to daytime. What a class act GL has been, even at its less than stellar moments. I was proud and delighted to be a viewer. Like Blake, I, too, will go out with HOPE.

  3. On a last minute whim I headed off on a five and a half hour drive Tuesday morning to Peapack, NJ to witness the final tapings for GL.

    I got there in time to see quite a few scenes being shot, and as luck would have it, I was there to see Ron Raines and EJ Bonilla tape their final scene. (It was the final scene each of them taped, bit not the final scenes we will see them in.) For me, it was a special moment, since I have been a fan of the character of “Alan Spaulding” for 30 years.

    As we went from location to location to see different scenes being shot, the temps were near 90 with very high humidity, yet everyone went about their work. Watching the crew set up, and seeing Ellen Wheeler block the scenes with the crew before the actors arrived made it interesting because you got to see the scenes coming to life from the ground up.

    One thing no one can take away from any of these actors is that they are the hardest working in the business. Many of the scenes were done on one take, as they come prepared and ready do get the job done. The other thing that is apparent as you watch them work, is that the cast and crew of GL are indeed a family, and they love each other as such.

    It is heartbreaking to loose this show that has been a part of my life for so long, but I have heard that she will go out on top!

    Tracey, how great that you were able to go!

  4. I feel for those involved and I feel for those of us who love or have loved the show. The next few weeks and thereafter aren’t going to be easy.

    Thanks for sharing the facebook stuff, as I only read the twitter feeds.

Leave a Reply

